The community…

 

wordpress_logo

After blogging for a couple of years, I’ve learned a few things about the blogging community. Most of what I’ve learned comes from the fact that the blogging community (or at least the wordpress community) is full of kind people, I’m sure I pointed this out when I was comparing the wordpress community and the twitter community. My favourite thing about the blogging community is that no matter how much nonsense is spewed in a blog post, there are always people willing to read the post and see the positives in it, giving a possible like and comment along the way. This is the kind of thing that definitely helps to give people confidence in their writing because they know that they can be themselves and they don’t have to write in a way to please others like how you might find on other forms of social media.

Sometimes, I look back through a couple of my blog posts and when it comes down to it I’ve definitely wrote some of that good bs. I have to wonder what people think at times when they’re reading my posts, don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful that my posts even receive views but sometimes I do wonder if people look at the title of the post and are wary. I can’t make too many assumptions about the people in the blogging community but I have nothing negative to say, I wouldn’t call blogging anti-social media but it’s probably the best way to describe it just based on the fact that the things I see when blogging aren’t like what I see on social media. If I read a post with lots of comments, the comments usually show support, respond to the points made in the post or have constructive criticism whereas on other social media, if there’s a post that gains a lot of attention it’s likely to be negative (I’m even guilty of saying some mean things… usually to racists though).

I’ve never been worried about writing a post on here, not that I’ve ever been worried about writing a post on other social media, just look at my twitter feed. The thing about other social media is that there can be the feeling of being a little on edge because it’s very pc and if you write something that could allow people to jump to conclusions based on something that you haven’t implied or said that you’ll find that a lot of people load up their internet confidence and come at you. I can get away with saying a lot of things on here, I don’t have to pretend to sound smart and write some well-articulated nonsense, I reckon that if I did then it would be noticed anyway.

I just have to appreciate that the people here will read through bs. I don’t know where the tolerance of the blogging community ends and I’m not trying to find out, considering how much shitness I see online, it can be hard to believe that wordpress powers so much of the internet. If a time ever does come where I have something to say about the wordpress community in particular, it means that Donald Trump is a great president.

4 thoughts on “The community…

  1. The community in the WordPress blog sphere is surprisingly civil. Maybe because most people who comment write their own blogs? On other sites (like Youtube) most of the people who leave mean comments don’t care because they don’t create content, so they don’t fear a backlash for being rude.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It would be a shame if some people are only kind so that they don’t receive negative comments. I could see that being the case given that I’ve never seen a block function on this website like other ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Once again, Jeffrey, your writing makes me realize something I hadn’t given much thought to. You are right about the blogging community. It is mostly supportive and positive about the writing of others, perhaps because we understand it takes effort to write something that others will want to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whatever the reason may be for the good atmosphere on wordpress, I hope that it doesn’t stop. Trust me when I tell you that it’s nice to log on to here after being on Twitter for 30 mins.

      Like

Leave a Reply

