Statements and shirts

front

People will put anything on shirt won’t they? I’m not an expert on fashion and I’m not an expert on statements either, but I still got some shit to say on this (which you probably guessed from clicking on this post). On social media, I see people making all kinds of statements and some people taking the chance to put these statements on t-shirts and other than for monetary gain, I don’t get why people do it. I guess it’s ok if you’re saying something stupid like ‘gimme doughnuts’ but what about when you put a social statement on a t-shirt? Is it really helping to promote the statement or is it just a way for pockets to get lined?

A while back, I saw somebody modelling a shirt which said ‘fuck racism’ and I fully agree with it, fuck racism, fuck racist people, I don’t think I can say my explicit thoughts at this point in time but fuck all kinds of racism and if you support it then please know that you’re a cunt. Back to the post, I feel like putting that sentiment on a shirt adds no value to the battle against racism. If you put something on a shirt, it may show how you feel but the minute that you start selling it, it has to be asked if you feel really strongly about the issue. If a child goes missing and you put it on a shirt to promote that the child is missing, would you sell it? I highly doubt it, no parent wants to milk their child’s misfortune (well there may be two who’ve been profiting off the death of their child for over 10 years but that’s me speculating).

I’m just saying that putting a statement on a shirt and selling it, devalues the meaning of said statement in my eyes. I might even go as far to say that just putting it on a shirt even if you don’t intend to sell it still devalues the statement. Other than potential promo, I don’t really know how it benefits a cause and given the power of social media and word of mouth it seems like there are more effective ways of promotion. I honestly feel like in a situation like this, the person with the most to gain is the person who puts the statement on the shirt which doesn’t sit well with me. Personally, I don’t think that statements which reflect feelings towards society should be used for fashion, it seems like satire to me.

2 thoughts on “Statements and shirts

    1. T-shirt with funny lines are cool and harmless as well, I could never go on a crusade against those kind of shirts. I can’t shake the feeling that shirts with social statements give me though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

