Rap is an art

Music is an art, I think rap is an art as well as other kinds of music but because I listen to rap more than I do others, I feel like I can personally relate more to what I’m saying if I describe rap. To be honest, I could never change my view on rapping being an art just because of how I’ve personally learned about how diverse it is as I’ve listened to it over the years.

A while back, I was thinking as people usually do and a couple of songs popped up in my head which made me realise how many styles of rap there are (again) and within those styles of rap, there are sub-genres which involve different things like the beats and the delivery. The lyrical content is sticking point for me when I understand the lyrics because the lyrics could be a critique of society, a group of catchy one liners that happen to rhyme, a story, some bragging, or something else that I haven’t mentioned.

As I said before, this could be said of other genres but I mostly listen to rap as my song of the week posts will tell you. Some people talk about rap having gone downhill in recent years and all that jazz because people mumble and the lines are hard to understand. I used to agree with it but the truth is that, with every era of rap, the genre diversifies and allows for more potential greatness within the genre. Every rapper plays their part and whilst not every rapper is good, they bring something to the table because they appeal to somebody.

Music is something that does a lot for those that listen to it, or at the very least it does a lot for me. Like I said before, rap is an art; hopefully one day I’ll be able to explain it better but for now I’m going to appreciate it.

 

5 thoughts on “Rap is an art

  1. Rap is definitely an art and it’s kind of surprising that people don’t see that and just assume that it’s all about sex, money, drugs, and violence. Drill music is a perfect example people who either aren’t from an area like south chicago or just take music at face value often see it as just rappers rapping about killing and ignorant thing that don’t happen when in reality it shows you the type of environment they were in and what the morals are like there

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! A lot of people rely on stereotypes in order to form their opinions when it comes to rap. I reckon as rap evolves and the right people are around the genre, people will really see what the genre is about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

