Like WOW!

thinky-w536-h357-2x
Thinking face

The other day, I was at the museum with a friend of mine and I only realised something that I think I should have realised a while ago. How quickly the world around us is changing and how we’re effortlessly adapting to it. I looked at what you could consider to be the history section and I saw things like a PlayStation 3, iPhone 3 (this really got to me because I have an iPhone 4… I know) and other things that I thought were fairly modern. That got me thinking back to a conversation I had with my brother a few years back where he told me that we’re at a point where things can be released and considered obsolete within a year or two.

I don’t know if this has been going on for ages or if it’s a more recent thing but it’s a scary thing to take in considering that we’re affected by it but because of how incremental the change is it just seems completely normal. I’d understand if I saw something like an old car there because they’ve come a hell of a long way in 200 years or so but a PS3 which is only 11 years old… Man that is crazy!

d8b904221971468a9dda4b60b01befbc
Me looking at the PS3

Like I said before, this is something that I should have noticed earlier and phones are the best example of this. The Nokia 3310 was released in 2000 and the first iPhone was released in 2007. It only took 7 seven years to go from having a phone with no internet capability to practically having a laptop that fits in our pockets, think about that. When looking at that, then it becomes easier to think about all of the other things that have made a crazy amount of progress.

I’ve got to admit that after I managed to stop being wowed it made me realise how much I take this stuff for granted. Technology is going to continue to get better, this is inevitable and where it is now is amazing especially considering that you can pretty much talk to anyone in the world on your phone. I don’t know what’s going to happen next and what’s going to completely disappear but I do know that whatever piece of technology disappears, most likely won’t be missed and whatever replaces it probably won’t even last that long as we continue to consume things. One thing that really got me is that at one point, it’s going to have to be explained to the future generations. I honestly can’t imagine telling my future children about the PS3 only to hear that it’s primitive (wireless controllers, internet connection, playing blu-rays… ALL OF THAT PRIMITIVE!? REALLY?)

batman-slapping-robin
New technology to old technology

I can’t say that noticing this is going to make me a better person and consider how amazing the technology around me is. If I’m honest with you, I have a PS4 that I don’t play, a PS3 that’s on standby in case I want to play it even though I won’t play it and a damn iPhone that I’ve been plotting on getting rid of for ages. I will say this; it’s really interesting to take in what we use because it gives us some perspective of how quickly things are advancing.

2 thoughts on “Like WOW!

Leave a Reply

