I like seeing progress

high_five_d
High five of progress

When it comes to people and the progress that they make, I enjoy seeing it. Watching somebody on the come up and seeing them achieve the things that they want to is one of the best things that life has to offer in my opinion. I find that in pretty much all cases I don’t personally know the people who I see gain notoriety but it doesn’t take away from the feeling at all. It serves as a reminder that it’s possible to do these things because at one point, they had little before getting into a great position and they had to work hard whilst having all the struggles that you’d expect of anyone who’s trying to achieve a goal (unless you’re Donald Trump who had a small loan of $1,000,000).

It’s almost a vicarious living thing for me. I like to imagine myself in a situation where I’ve gotten to the place that I want to be; it helps when some of the people I see doing well are local because it sets off the thought that there isn’t a limit (something that I have to remind myself of at times). If I haven’t said it before on this blog then I’ll say it now, everybody deserves success in whatever area of life that they’re looking, except the people in life that I dislike (they deserve success but I’ll be indifferent to it).

I think whenever somebody does well in one area, it can be considered a win for everybody involved e.g Krept & Konan and Stormzy. They’re musicians from South London who in recent years have elevated the UK music scene and been recognised for the hard work that they put in and I see as a win for UK rap and grime music, South London and everybody who are fans of the culture.

Personally I don’t plan to continue watching people achieve what they want without doing something myself and hopefully it’s the same for everyone reading this.

A few words

One thought on “I like seeing progress

  1. People who make it big can be inspirational. Sometimes you have to be at the right place at the right time, but in the Western world most people who make an effort can at least look forward to a satisfying life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

