Money, money, money

ching-ching
This…

There’s something that’s bothered me for a little while, money. Money is great and I’m sure I’ve wrote blog posts about how I want to earn a lot of it but it still bothers me. I can’t put my finger on it but if I had to give the closest answer, I’d say that it’s the portrayal. Have you ever had a conversation with someone or seen someone who’s made it clear that their redeeming feature is the amount of money that they’ve got?

So what? Someone makes a lot of money and they brag about it, where do we go from there? Losing money is just as much of a reality as making it so if somebody loses money does that mean that their value goes down? Chances are that what a person does to make money is much more of a redeeming feature than the amount that’s been made. If I’m being honest, the moment that you’re making money, it becomes something that you can mention no matter how much you make, making more of it doesn’t make one person better than another.

The whole thing of people saying things like ‘yeah but I make X amount of money’ or ‘I make more money than you’ makes me cringe. When I see videos of rappers playing with their money or showing it off, it looks fucking corny and it makes me wonder if that’s all that they’ve got. Money is an important part of life because it’s practically impossible to live without it but it’s a big problem if you’re letting it define you. People who get bigheaded over the amount of money they have are in the same league as those who boast about the size of their package, the amount of sex they’ve had and other pathetic things like that.

giphy
My reaction to boasters

 

I’ve never been one for dick measuring contests, which is probably why I don’t take to it when people brag about their possessions or just brag in general. Money isn’t going to follow you when you die, it doesn’t stop people from thinking about you in a certain way (if their view of you suddenly becomes positive then it’s because they’re extremely fake), it just allows you to afford more shit; that can’t be the best that people have to offer can it? It makes me wonder what these people think of themselves on a personal level if their defence mechanism is their money.

Everybody is different, there’s possibly something involved in talking about the amount of money that you have that could be appealing which I don’t see because I’m broke as a bitch. I feel that money shouldn’t be the end result to be honest, once you’re making money there’s a lot that you can do with it that’s actually useful but bragging isn’t one of those things. I guess this is a part of life, it’s not a part of life that makes much sense to me but then again a lot of things in life don’t make much sense to me.

5 thoughts on “Money, money, money

  1. You and I agree on this topic 100%, Jeffrey. I was a teacher. I never made a lot of money but I went to work happy every day, still have students get in touch with me to express their appreciation, and had enough money to meet my needs. I wouldn’t change a thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The fact that you feel happy and wouldn’t change a thing; that’s how it should be! A lot of people make a great amount of money but I wonder how many of them can say that they have a rich quality of life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

