Do things your way!

841a9173e244f72db8df6f185bff5170

It’s been a couple of years since I started this blog but the truth is this isn’t my first blog, it’s actually my third and by far my most successful. I’ve been thinking about it for a little while and I’m grateful for how this blog has turned out, the comments on my posts, the views and the general interaction because let’s be honest what’s a post if it can’t spark a few thoughts? I think I’ve figured out why my blog is doing better which leads me to the point of this post. I’m doing things the way that I want to do them.

The first blog I wrote, I gave up on after a few months because it was too ‘professional’ for lack of a better word. I could never really write my thoughts on things because I was trying to be career oriented and it was meant to help guide me on a path that I became disillusioned with by the time that I was in my last year of university. It didn’t have any creativity whatsoever and it almost felt like a chore, which is a huge red flag when you’re managing your own stuff. My second blog could have been good but I ended up taking some EXTREMELY SHIT advice and begun to write in a pattern, what’s worse is that I took advice from someone that I know never had anything useful to say (can’t even blame him that much, it’s my fault for being so silly). The thing about doing a blog like that means that it’s not really your blog, it’s someone else’s but you do the work and I’m not a fan of unsolicited opinions.

I feel like people should march to the beat of their own drums in life, compromise is needed at times but most of the time you’ve got to do right by you. I don’t know what happiness stems from but I think that people playing by their own rules is a big part of it. Other than your parents, nobody should be telling you how to be yourself and how to do things that you want to do. Speaking from experience, it gets to the point where the fun gets sucked out of your passion and I strongly believe nobody deserves to become disillusioned with their passion on the account of other people who might not even understand what you’re trying to achieve.

I could say some shit like life’s too short but I know for a fact that anyone who reads this is already aware of it. For the past few years of my life, I’ve been thinking about successful people and the more that I study them, the more that I see that they do different things but they do these things because they want to. This to me is part of the very essence, if not the very essence of doing things your own way. Deep down, I feel like people have the answers to very questions that run through their heads concerning what they can do to better their quality of life and I’m not sure what stops us from trusting our gut instincts or following up on those really good ideas that come into our heads but I could say that by doing that, it’s like we’re denying ourselves.

This blog doesn’t have a focus, if you read it then you’ll see that it’s just me rambling about random shit that interests me but somehow the blog has grown stronger every year and I feel like I can credit some of that success to writing what I want. I know that there’s always the possibility that I sound way too idealistic, which makes sense given how much I have yet to experience in this life but just judging from what I’ve been through and what I’ve seen this is a belief that will continue to strengthen in my head.

Even if you don’t agree with this, I hope that anyone reading this will find a way to do things in a way that makes them happy.

4 thoughts on “Do things your way!

  1. Sounds like it was third time lucky for you when it comes to blogging. I agree you should be yourself when writing. Trying to act professional or strictly adhere to a structure can make typing an article a chore. Everyone can find an audience without pretending to by someone else.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d agree that third time was the charm for me. Couldn’t have said the last part any better myself. I’ve always thought that a blog post should somewhat represent the person who writes it, unless they’re writing for a publication.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

