Achieving goals…

thinky-w536-h357-2x

During my time in university, I kind of dabbled in the drugs and a lot of stuff happened especially with my mindset. It became very positive which is something that I needed and I feel like I was on a wave that most 19 year olds were on at the time, which was to discover a passion and follow your dreams. I wouldn’t say that the drugs were the reason that I started doing so but they definitely played a role in it.

space-04
The drugs

Despite everything I’ve said in my first paragraph, that isn’t really the point of this post (I’m sorry that I made you read that). These days, I’m still trying to be positive which can be hard to do but if there’s one thing that I’ve kept positive on without wavering, it’s following your dreams and trying to achieve what you set out for yourself. No matter how big or small, I feel that people owe it to themselves to at least try and achieve something that they’ve wanted because living a life of regret doesn’t do any favours for anyone.

One thing that I’ve found is that people don’t really seem to agree with it. Obviously people are entitled to their opinion so I understand that they might think my thoughts on this are silly, but I still find it weird that people are willing to say fuck that and be “realistic” whatever that means. Usually when I talk to people about doing well and trying to make their dream lifestyle a reality, they just look at me like I need to grow up, or they’ll entertain me but I can see in their face/reaction that they want me to stop talking about it.

trre
When people hear me start talking about goals

Some people don’t know what they want to do with their lives and it’s not something that’s easy to figure out but even just thinking about the future in such a way can cause people to switch off and I’ve always wondered why? The people that I’ve met seem very reluctant to talk about it as if it’s been programmed into them but they don’t really seem to be too thrilled with what’s going on in their lives at the moment (unless that’s the facade that they’re putting on). Not everybody gets to achieve their life goals but there are factors which contribute to that. What I see almost seems like a case of people giving up before they’ve even tried.

Once again I ask, why don’t people like to talk about goals?

It’s not by force that people have to talk about their goals or entertain me when I’m trying to have that kind of conversation but I honestly can’t get over the amount of people who don’t really care to talk about it. I guess talking about it doesn’t bring you any closer to achieving it but I’ll say this, those who I know that don’t like to talk about it have rushed into something else that is perceived as good (because it makes decent money) but when I ask them further about it, they just say that it’s something to do and they have a bit of experience but there’s little to no conviction in the way that say it.

Life is puzzling as well as challenging and as I’ve said before following your goals isn’t easy, in fact it has its own puzzles and challenges; with that being said I don’t think it’s scary or anything to turn your nose up at but that’s just my opinion. Maybe the drugs gave me an extremely romanticised view of achieving goals because I like to think about the end and I usually take a we’ll get there when we get there approach towards the hard work aspect. I still have a lot to go through in life so it’s possible that my mentality will change but hopefully I become more set in my ways.

What do you reckon on people not wanting/liking to talk about goals, could you give me some insight?

6 thoughts on “Achieving goals…

  1. From what I noticed, people think that they deserve whatever happens to them. For example, if something happened and they couldn’t finish school they think that it’s too late to go back and now they have to work whatever job to provide for their family, even if that makes them unhappy. Also, many people are scared of change, even if that change would bring happiness. People like to victimize, people think that dreams are for immature people. And not only they crash their dreams but they crash others as well. They refuse to make goals because they think they will never be able to achieve more. The sad part is that with their negativity, they slowly crash others dreams and goals as well.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve also seen that a lot of people are scared of change, which is a shame because taking a couple of risks could possibly go a long way. I really agree with your points, it does seem like people scare themselves and others out of doing great things but I feel like positive encouragement could really push people in the direction that they want to go and give them the confidence that they might have lacked in order to achieve their goals. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t add much to this discussion, as I am not the ambitious type. When it comes to life I am content staying home playing a good game.

    If I had a dream it would be to make a living through writing. Very few people are fortunate to do that so I choose to be “realistic” and settle for a mundane job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true, writing isn’t easy to live off, from what I understand a lot of people who write still work another job to make ends meet. It’s weird to me because it’s always possible to take your writing somewhere if the audience is there and there looks to always be one on wordpress.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I always had goals and, for the most part, achieved them; and I found that talking about them with others made my goals seem more real and made me feel responsible for achieving them. When I decided to write a book, I told my husband and two good friends and then I thought, “Oh, wow, now I need to really do it.” So, I say you should go on talking about your goals no matter how many eyeball rolls you get. And I, for one, hope you never change your mentality and become set in your ways. the world needs free thinkers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy to read that you achieved your goals, I don’t hear too much about that from people around me and it’s refreshing as well as encouraging! I definitely agree with you when it comes to talking about goals and it’s generally a good conversation to have in my opinion. I hope that my mentality won’t change, I feel a lot of things would change for the worst if I did.

      Like

Leave a Reply

