A quick question for the fifth time

giphy

I’ve had (another) weird thought for a while and I thought that I might as well ask it to see how what you guys think of it. When you’re doing a favour or a good deed, does the thought of karma come into your head and make you think twice about what you’re doing?

I like the principle of karma, or at least what I understand of it that what goes around comes around but sometimes this can creep up into my head and it gets me thinking. Sometimes I might find myself helping somebody carry their bags, returning lost property or something else that makes me do some moral shit but at certain times in my head a thought just pops up where I say to myself ‘yeah! The favour is going to be repaid someday.’ The weirdest thing is that those kind of thoughts aren’t in my head when I do the favour, at least I don’t think they are (they might be somewhere deep down if they come up straight after).

I know for a fact that I shouldn’t be thinking about how I’m going to be rewarded for the things that I do, it just feels like there’s something wrong about that. Don’t get it wrong, I’m not the greatest person on this earth (I’d love to say that I’m a pretty swell guy!) far from it but my moral compass works to a degree which is why I’m asking this question.

Me being artsy
Doesn’t he just look swell?

I guess at the end of the day we’re all self-interested in one way or another. I’ve legitimately met people who refuse to say please and thank you but get angry when you don’t say thank you to them for anything, which is crazy considering they’ll engineer a favour so that it benefits them more than it does others. We do have to look out for ourselves and make sure that we’re not getting screwed over when we do things. If I’m honest this is confusing to me because it has me questioning my own integrity at times. I reckon one day I’ll learn from this but at the same time it’s possible that I could get worse. I guess that’s something that I’ll have to see.

Before I get carried away, let me ask the question again. When you’re doing a favour or a good deed, does the thought of karma come into your head and make you think twice about what you’re doing? Do you reckon I’m thinking too much into this and I should just live my life or have you got some advice for me? I’d love to know.

10 thoughts on “A quick question for the fifth time

  1. We always act out of self-interest but people are hesitant to admit that. When you carry someone’s bags, the deed is no less helpful, though, if you admit to yourself that you helping this person with the goal of 1) being repaid in some way in the future or 2) to feel good about yourself. The beauty of karma is that it understands this natural desire of humans wanting to help themselves, and turns it into a way for people to help others! This is all my opinion, of course, and by no means do I preach it as fact nor am I unreceptive to other opinions so I’d be interested to hear your take on this comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t understand karma too well so I never really thought about the possibility of it understanding our thought processes when we perform deeds. I do like your take on the question because I feel that it’s weird to feel guilty for wanting to be acknowledged positively when doing something good and in a weird sort way I might even be able to say that it’s purer when you do a deed knowing your intention rather than thinking about what the intention is.

      Like

  2. I do. A lot! Of overthinking lol! But I do believe in karma so I would not want to be hit by it when I least expect it. Do I expect good things to happen to me when I do good? In the back of my mind I probably do but to be honest I don’t think too much about it. However, when I do something bad! Boy ohhh boy the fear that hunts me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I generally think people do act in their own self-interest but having a reputation for doing good is part of serving that self-interest when you live in a community. Overthinking maybe but it is practical.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fair point, I can’t deny that regardless of the intention if you help someone else then both parties benefit. I guess thinking about how you benefit from something isn’t always a bad thing.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t have any answers, Jeffrey. This question bothers me as well; or, better put, used to bother me. Now I no longer think about it because I don’t do kind things thinking I’ll get something back from it some day, but I do them knowing full well that doing so will make me happy. Is that self interest? Yes. But, I think, a very positive self interest. Was your Christmas merry?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great spin on self-interest, I don’t think you can go wrong with doing good deeds that make you happy because everybody wins which is how things should be. I enjoyed my Christmas, thanks for asking 🙂 I hope you enjoyed yours as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

