Brexit thoughts, take it how you will…

I know that the referendum is done and we’re a few days past it but I still thought that I’d write about it because I have some thoughts that I want to get out (I guess this is obvious since I’m blogging it). Most of Britain voted to leave the European Union and I’ll be honest I’m not very happy about that at all, hopefully if the world is good then Britain’s exit will be vetoed. When it comes down to it, I don’t think I should be surprised that Britain voted out but there’s one thing about it that really irks the fuck out of me, the xenophobic nature of the result.

There are a lot of valid reasons which people used to come to the conclusion that Britain should leave the EU (although a lot of out voters realised that they fucked up) but that’s not what won the day. Brexit proved two things, Britain’s so xenophobic that it’s actually stupid and things like this shouldn’t be left in the hands of the public. I’m not politically inclined and I’ll always be the first to admit this but at the same time, I’m aware of the things that the EU does (or did at this rate) for Britain and this is something that a lot of people weren’t aware of when they voted, as the many reports of people searching Google for answers in relation to what the EU does after voting closed.

The more I think about it, the more confused I get because so many people here are so happy to say that immigrants will no longer be coming to Britain (even though that’s not the case) and in all of that, they’ve got immigrants upset and worried because they’re not sure of their future (immigrants aren’t just going to get deported, I reckon they’re safe but I don’t know about their businesses). I’m from London so obviously, I’ve lived in a multicultural bubble for the majority of my life and I’ve never really seen British xenophobia anywhere near its peak however outside London it’s rampant. There have already been incidents where British people have started getting the balls to talk shit to those who aren’t British and this is the stupidity that also gets to me.

You can tell who the leave campaign targeted when you look at it, it’s really not hard to see (I won’t say because I feel like I can’t say it without coming across as rude). A lot of people who voted out talked so much nonsense about immigrants stealing jobs and I don’t even know where to start with this. They talked as if every immigrant comes to the UK and immediately becomes a doctor, lawyer, journalist or something as respected as that when in reality they willingly take the jobs that British people think they’re above doing, I couldn’t believe the bullshit I heard when people were casually saying that there would be more job opportunities. What makes it even worse is because the angle was spun in such a way that it made it seem as if immigrants give nothing when they pay taxes and contribute to the economy, those same taxes that are taken out of their pay are given to people who don’t even try to search from jobs and get comfortable living off benefits (not all of these people voted out but the ones who voted out, you could imagine were vocal).

To be honest, both campaigns didn’t always have the right statistics but you could see that the leave campaign was built on a hell of a lot of lies. Within 24 hours of Britain voting to leave Nigel Farage practically backtracked on the promise to spend £350million on the NHS (keep in mind that Britain spends way more on that on the NHS). That’s not even the worst thing, the worst thing is that it looked as if Britain had no plan upon leaving the EU, look at this clip from Boris Johnson and ask yourself if that’s someone who looks as if they know what to about Britain’s situation.

The negative effects of Brexit were immediately felt and it’s not looking like it’s going to get any better; with Britain definitely preparing for price inflation thanks to the weakened economy (you know the same ones that immigrants contributed to), the future of students British students studying in EU and vice versa in doubt, the partnerships forged with many countries heading towards new deals which might not be as good and more. It’s unbelievable to think that this was done mostly to spite immigrants.

I feel that I have more to write so I’ll follow it up later on because I got angry as I wrote this.

3 thoughts on “Brexit thoughts, take it how you will…

  1. Vetoing something the majority voted for wouldn’t be very democratic. England voted out, although it wouldn’t be fair for N.Ireland and Scotland to be dragged along for the ride against their wishes. The UK’s days could be numbered because it looks like Scotland will be seeking independence.

    I don’t think the UK is racist, but island nations do tend to eye foreigners with suspicion. Will the terrorist boogeyman scaring people it’s no surprise that people have been so concerned about immigration. This whole debacle could have been avoided had the EU been more diplomatic. Unelected bureaucrats imposing laws does cause unrest. If the UK’s departure goes smoothly other nations may follow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re fully right, it wouldn’t be democratic. I have to admit I’m worried about the direction that Britain could go in after this, especially England since I live there. I wouldn’t say that the UK is completely racist either but at the same time, there’s something very wrong if decisions are being made just to spite immigrants. I thought that all the states in the EU had some involvement in the law making as well as the unelected bereaucrats, I’m not too sure what they do but I feel as if people think they have more power than they really do. Hopefully there is a good strategy in place that will see a positive result for everybody affected by this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

