Working ain’t easy

80608841
Work…

I’ve only recently learnt what it’s like to be in a proper working environment and it’s definitely a lot calmer than I expected; I’ve always had the idea that all work environments are stressful and incredibly hectic so it’s nice that I was proven wrong on that front (or maybe it’s the type of work that I’m doing). That’s not the full point of this blog post though, I’m actually giving props to all of the people that are in the working world and have been doing it casually for as long as they have (or since they were employed).

A while back, I wrote a post where I noted that people looked unhappy when they were travelling to work and if I’m honest that hasn’t changed. I’m surprised that people are able to get on with their jobs so casually despite the depressing feelings they carry on a daily basis. I can’t say that I have the best idea of the feelings that are being carried during transit, I could guess that there’s a lot of resentment carried towards the start of the week (because everyone hates Mondays) and at the end of the week people are just too mentally tired to celebrate. I can say that after a number of days of working, I feel drained so I can only imagine how those who have worked for years and decades feel.

Seriously, just slowly (VERY SLOWLY) transitioning into the working word has made me realise how mentally draining it all is. Doing that for five days a week (and in some cases six) for a paycheque doesn’t seem like the fairest trade, especially when considering that some people are working themselves down to the ground just to barely make ends meet. I’ve never really thought too much of the working world, I’ve always asked myself that if people are so unhappy, then why don’t they just quit and follow their dreams but it’s really not that simple. There’s so much mental strength needed to go through work especially knowing how much that it’s taking from you.

When I see working people who are very irritable, I can’t say that they don’t have the right to feel that way. Most of the day disappears into thin air and it’s hard to argue that it’s the most productive use of their time even if it’s contributing to society. Having a job is seriously a sacrifice and a huge one at that; honestly it’s really hard not to respect what these people do.

For all the people that work full time jobs, I fully respect the hustle, it’s sometimes classed as playing it safe but it’s really isn’t and it’s definitely not taking the easy way out in life.

8 thoughts on “Working ain’t easy

  1. I would love to be able to quit my job and follow my dreams. Unfortunately whenever I feel that I finally found a job/a company that I really enjoy the routine kicks in and I find myself stressed and frustrated again. I would love to do something on my own, be my own boss though I wonder how long would my happiness last. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The work cycle takes so much energy but I think the possibilities for happiness are endless if you’re your own boss (not to sound too cheesy). I reckon there’s always a way around these things.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I work today (from home but I work). I find it so frustrating that I have to work on a Sunday and correct other people mistakes. Probably I just have a bad day but arghhhhh for some reason my patience today is limited. I’m on my lunch now and I’m thinking and thinking how can I do something on my own. Is either that or I’ll just be unhappy all my life! 😔😔😔

        Like

  2. Actually, Jeffrey, I had a job I liked. I enjoyed teaching and working with young people. But, you’re right, it was hard to go to work Monday morning after the freedom of the weekend and usually by Friday I was exhausted; so people watching me commute could have thought my life was drudgery when it wasn’t. As always, I’m impressed by the maturity of your insights.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the compliment 🙂 It’s great to know that you enjoyed what you did, I guess it could be the case for a lot of other people as well but it’s so hard to spot if I’m being honest. I feel that the fact that you enjoyed your job is definitely more than I can say for most people.

      Like

Leave a Reply

