5 Things I hate when playing games

Just thought I’d do a quick post for the games category of my blog because Lord knows that section needs a lot of love. I really don’t remember when the last time I wrote something for that section was, anyway that doesn’t matter, what matters is the present (some words of wisdom for all of you reading 🙂 ). A while back I thought about some of the things that really piss me off when I’m playing games and I thought why not share it because there are probably people who have experienced the same feeling.

When the game freezes:

This really got to me when I was younger (like how stuff grinded Peter Griffin’s gears) because I wasn’t a guy that valued the importance of saving every now and again. It’s very easy to get immersed in a game and forget that saving actually does a world of good. I’d always look at the screen and ask ‘SSX Tricky!? Why are you doing this?’ It’s a good thing that nowadays games have an autosave feature just so that when the game freezes you can stay calm with a smug smile knowing that you haven’t been set back far.

When a boss is too hard:

This is just me being a sore loser but even with that being said, I’m sure the purpose of a game is to complete it (or is it for the company to make money?) and I can’t complete the game if the God damn boss is getting in my way. To the developers of those hard to beat bosses, thank you for adding to my gaming experience and fuck you for all the stress.

When I’m playing a multiplayer game, I’ve had enough but the other player wants to keep playing:

I beg you, leave me alone.

When the game glitches:

I’m not talking about Pokémon style glitches because those glitches are awesome, I’m talking glitches that don’t benefit my game (not that all Pokémon glitches do). If only you knew the amount of times that I’d play SSX Tricky, uncontrollably crash into a wall and fall into a void of nothingness whilst I went from 1st place to last. The pain, the motherfucking pain.

DLC:

Ok, this isn’t really something that I hate, I just wanted to call out Capcom because I’m admittedly still butthurt about what they did with Street Fighter X Tekken. I think both Street Fighter and Tekken are amazing series’ but that game was undeniably crap, and what makes it worse is that they tried to make people pay for DLC that was already on the disc? I don’t know what’s worse out of that and day one DLC, seriously. I have content on a game that I can’t access because I didn’t pay enough? I’m pretty sure that Capcom stole £21 from me when I brought it, if anything I’m owed that DLC.

I won’t get into a rant about DLC because I feel I’ve already done that before but I will ask this, what annoys you when you’re playing games?

2 thoughts on “5 Things I hate when playing games

  1. I hate repeating stuff I already cleared so freezes/crashes certainly suck. Charging for on disc content and branding it as DLC is terrible too. Judging from what I have read about Streetfighter 5, Capcom continue ripping people off to this day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

