Thoughts/review (kinda) on Royal Rumble (2016)

wwe_royal_rumble_2016_new_logo_wallpaper_by_alexc0bra-d9k31pd

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS!

The Road to WrestleMania is officially underway thanks to the Royal Rumble. Usually I’m really negative about WWE (just check my posts on them) but this time around, I can say that I’m satisfied, maybe even a little impressed at how WWE did the Royal Rumble. I reckon that the pay-per-view gave WWE some much needed momentum considering who is injured and it will be interesting to see if they fuck this up before WrestleMania.

General thoughts on the Royal Rumble:

The Royal Rumble is always one of the better ppvs in the WWE calendar because it has the Royal Rumble match which tells you who is going to “main event” WrestleMania (and who to boo). The past two Royal Rumble ppvs were huge fuck ups but that doesn’t take away from the excitement of the match since there are always returns, surprise entries, the annual Kofi Kingston spot and funny eliminations.

Matches

Dean Ambrose (c) vs. Kevin Owens (Intercontinental Championship)

Winner: Dean Ambrose

This was a last man standing match and it didn’t have JOHN CENA! Now that we’ve established that, I can say that this was a good match but that’s expected of these two. This match had me hooked especially when I reminded myself that the Intercontinental Championship was at stake. This match was surprisingly not super PG’ed up (it was PG’ed a little) like how WWE loves to do with matches and I think that really contributed to the quality of the match. Ambrose made Owens look strong, selling Owens’ hits well and struggling to get up but barely making it before the ten count whilst Owens was able to get up earlier. This match was probably one of the hardest hitting matches you’ll see for a while and that’s something that played well into the last man standing stipulation.

Watch or Skip: Watch

Other thoughts: Holy shit chants really early into the match because it was probably the best match outside of the Royal Rumble match (I’m undecided). Kevin Owens taking a seat whilst Dean Ambrose was on the floor outside the ring was cheeky (love it!). Dean Ambrose and Kevin Owens definitely weren’t PG with their chair shots. Dean Ambrose punched a chair off Kevin Owens’ neck and for that he’s the shit! Michael Cole’s musical chairs comment was one of the best things I’ve heard him say in a long time.

The New Day (c) vs. The Usos (Tag Team Championship)

Winner: The New Day

Honestly I didn’t pay as much attention to this match as I should have and that’s because I’m bored of seeing the Usos in the WWE Tag Team Championship picture, doesn’t WWE know how to keep these guys relevant without having them compete for a title? They do it for Cena and Reigns and these two are basically the Cena and Reigns of that division. From what I remember of the match it was solid which is expected. I don’t really have much to say on this match in all honesty.

Watch or Skip: Watch

Other thoughts: Xavier Woods once again proved why he was the star of The New Day making funny comments at ringside especially when he told one of the Usos that his brother’s soul had been taken and he was next. Despite everything that I said about the Usos, they’re further in my good books for dabbing during their entrance.

Uso dab!

Alberto Del Rio (c) vs. Kallisto (United States Championship)

Winner: Kallisto

So this feud is one that I find to be stupid. Two weeks ago, Kallisto won the US Championship off Alberto Del Rio and lost it one day after, just to win it back when the rematch could have just been had at the Royal Rumble with Kallisto retaining. My lack of investment in this feud led to me not paying too much attention to this match. I spotted a few botches in this match but that happens with Kallisto, since I cared least about this match I enjoyed it a lot less. There were some exciting moments in the match, it was by no means a terrible match but when you see a match for the same title with the same stipulation three times in two weeks, it’s very hard to care.

Watch: I guess you can watch it

Other thoughts: JBL’s comment on Kallisto looking up to everybody was funny. I’m not sure if the commentary team were trying to take shots at Rey Mysterio or not.

Charlotte (c) vs. Becky Lynch (Divas Championship)

Winner: Charlotte

I liked this match, I’m undecided on which match I enjoyed more out of this and the Intercontinental Championship match. Becky Lynch looked really good in this match and didn’t come out looking weaker thanks to Ric Flair interrupting on Charlotte’s behalf (as usual). It’s been happening for a while but this match really did help to show that women’s wrestling on the main roster can be entertaining fights rather than screaming and shaking. Needless to say, this match had me hooked, I didn’t care about the pacing, selling, story (even though I should have) because it’s been a while since WWE put on a divas match that I was fully into. Part of me really thought that Becky Lynch was going to walk out as the new Divas champion but it wasn’t disappointing that she didn’t win.

Watch or Skip: Watch

Other thoughts: It’ll be interesting to see how Sasha Banks fits into the storyline and how this will shape the Divas Championship picture for WrestleMania.

The Royal Rumble (One vs. All for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship)

Winner: Triple H

Is there really much to say about the Royal Rumble? I don’t think so but there are definitely some things that have to be mentioned. My opinion is that Brock Lesnar is going to face Bray Wyatt at WrestleMania, it has to happen after the Wyatt Family eliminated him from the match. I enjoyed watching it, seeing AJ Styles make his debut on the main roster rather than going to NXT, seeing Big E help Kofi Kingston stay in the match (one day Kofi will win!), seeing R-Truth grab a ladder for some reason were just a few things I liked. I wasn’t disappointed by the ending of the match either, I didn’t think it made much sense but questioning WWE’s logic gets tiring so I’ll just wait for Roman Reigns vs. Triple H at WrestleMania.

Reaction

Me watching all of the surprises.

Watch or Skip: Always watch (even if the Rumble match is shit)

Other thoughts: I saw a lot of people claiming that Triple H’s win was predictable which makes me wonder how I was the only person that didn’t see it coming. I thought Reigns would be in the final two after the steady three year Royal Rumble progression but seeing him eliminated before then wasn’t bad. I’m wondering if there’s going to be a Kevin Owens/AJ Styles feud or Kevin Owens/Sami Zayn. Everything points to Roman Reigns having his WrestleMania moment but I’m not disappointed.

Clap of approval

My reaction to the Royal Rumble.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts/review (kinda) on Royal Rumble (2016)

    1. WWE loves giving the title to part timers and hate givng people a push. They also haven’t really pushed anyone available apart from Roman Reigns well enough to give them a world championship run.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

