Song of the week 18/1/16 – 24/1/16

Here’s the link to the song

I almost wasn’t going to do the song of the week this week just because I couldn’t find the song I was looking for on YouTube but fear not (if you weren’t fearing to begin with then that makes me sad). Moving on the song that I’ve been feeling this week (that could possibly be responsible for a lack of new music over the next few weeks) is ‘Genocide’ by the legendary Dr. Dre which features Marsha Ambrosius, Candice Pillay and Kendrick Lamar. The song references killing in Compton and I’m guessing how casual murder is in that city. It goes further as Dr. Dre compares how murder occurs in Compton to his effect on the music industry. Kendrick makes references to the life that he’s had whilst growing up in Compton, something that can really be understood when listening to his album good kid, m.A.A.d city.

Favourite line(s):

Kendrick Lamar – My discretion fuck your blessing, fuck your life, fuck your hope, fuck your mama, fuck your daddy, fuck your dead homie, fucked the world up when we came up that’s Compton homie!

Everything about this song sounds right! Everything gets me, from the start where the car is revving up, to the verse by Candice Pillay, to Kendrick Lamar’s verse. The instrumental really does a lot for this song, I feel like every sound is right and it’s placed correctly. It’s hard for me to explain but if you listen to the hook after the first verse and the instrumental that’s behind it, could you really tell me that it doesn’t sound well placed?

Recommendation on how/when to listen: Is there ever a designated time for Dr. Dre’s music. Blaze one and zone out (or don’t blaze one, it doesn’t really matter).

On a side note, I was so happy when Dr. Dre’s new album finally came out.

Leave a Reply

