Thoughts/review (kinda) on Tables, Ladders & Chairs (2015)

TLC

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS!

Tables, Ladders and Chairs. The final pay-per-view of 2015 aired and I can say that it was better than Survivor Series (it usually is these days). I’m going to go ahead and say that I’m happy the ppv returned to Tables, Ladders and Chairs after last year’s stairs edition which involved a stairs match with two wrestlers that fans wish they could pay not to see. This ppv definitely had some interesting booking decisions which have slightly got me looking forward to WrestleMania (even if it is a few months away).

General thoughts on TLC:

This is another gimmick ppv however, every year there always manages to be something interesting which makes me more invested in a storyline and that’s more than I can say for most ppvs in the WWE calendar.

Matches

The New Day (c) vs. The Usos vs. The Lucha Dragons (Tag Team Championship)

Winner: The New Day

This was the spot match. From the minute that you see a match with The Usos, The Lucha Dragons and Kofi Kingston, you immediately know that this is the spot match. I didn’t have a problem with this match, if anything I’d say that this was the match that I enjoyed the most from the whole ppv. Once again, when you get these guys in a ring together, you know exactly what to expect, lots of moves from the top ropes, suicide dives, Big E doing something to look strong and all of that jazz. I don’t think that there’s too much to say on this match because it gave me what I expected. I’ll admit this last thing, I feel like I would have enjoyed the match more if this was my first WWE match in months.

Watch or Skip: Watch

Other thoughts: Kofi Kingston only noticed at the ramp that Xavier Woods didn’t so some crazy shit with his hair. Aren’t they road buddies or am I looking too far into this? The New Day’s promos go nowhere but they do indeed rock. If The New Day put out an album on iTunes then I’ll buy it. WWE are shameless promotion shoguns, not only did they plug WWE 2K16 during the match but they also plugged Woods’ YouTube channel upupdowndown where they play WWE 2K16 (and other things). Kalisto’s Salida del sol to the Uso (I’m still not sure which one) was my favourite part of the match. When Kalisto started climbing the ladder and Michael Cole called him Sin Cara I asked myself ‘are you sure about that Mike?’ and speaking of commentary why was Xavier Woods better on commentary than the actual team? Xavier Woods showed why New Day rocks when he threw his trombone at Kalisto but here’s some food for thought. What if he missed?

Head done fucked up

How your head should feel trying to answer that last question.

Rusev vs. Ryback

Winner: Rusev

If you’ve watched Rusev and Ryback’s recent matches on WWE’s free programming then you basically watched their ppv match. This match was a bit longer than the matches that these two have had recently but pretty much the same things happened. Ryback smash, Rusev crush, Rusev rolls out of the ring, Ryback comes into some kind of contact with Lana. The biggest difference between this match and the ones that they had on TV was that this one got an ending.

Watch or Skip: Skip

Other thoughts: I didn’t expect much from this match, it’s ok but you’re not missing much by skipping it. I’m not sure if this is the case or just me but Lana isn’t as over as she was before getting injured. This match had no story and wasn’t even necessary.

Alberto Del Rio (c) vs. Jack Swagger (United States Championship)

Winner: Alberto Del Rio

This match was boring to me. Even the chairs in this match couldn’t save it and if I’m honest straight after the match finished, I forgot most of what happened. I’m not even sure which theme song Alberto Del Rio used to enter the ring. Before the match started, I already questioned why it needed to be a chairs match but I think that the worst part in this is that both Del Rio and Swagger can both give good matches. I guess that’s what happens when you have to tone down the wrestling and there’s no story to a match.

Watch or Skip: Skip

Other thoughts: Having Alberto Del Rio and Zeb Colter split before the match was definitely not the smartest thing that WWE could have been done. I guess Jack Swagger is off to the wilderness now until he’s needed to job to someone again (I could be wrong). I wonder if WWE are aware that when Michael Cole was reading out Colter’s tweet, they put up the wrong tweet. The crowd clearly weren’t invested in the match as the CM Punk chants will tell you. Del Rio really didn’t care to sell Swagger’s ankle lock even though it was applied with a chair, A CHAIR. How did the US Championship go from having John Cena and Seth Rollins putting out all the stops for it to this? WWE have underutilised Del Rio so much that I’m waiting for John Cena to come back and take the US Championship off him. In this era, the man makes the title instead of the opposite which is a shame. WHAT THE FUCK IS DEL RIO’S FINISHER!!?

The Wyatt Family vs. The Dudley Boyz, Tommy Dreamer and Rhyno

Winner: The Wyatt Family

I honestly didn’t think much of this elimination match. I tried to be interested but the two matches that came before this made it very hard for me to care about what was going on. I don’t want to talk shit and give an opinion on the quality of the match because admittedly, I didn’t really pay attention. If you were hoping for something then I apologise.

Watch or Skip: I don’t even know to be honest

Other thoughts: The fact that Erick Rowan was the only member of the Wyatt Family that got eliminated says a lot about who the least important member of the family is. The way that D-Von was eliminated made me laugh, I think it was the fact that Bray Wyatt kind of snuck up behind him and delivered the slam with so much force, it would have been complete it he said ‘get the fuck out of my ring!’ When Michael Cole said that the feud began the night after SummerSlam, which SummerSlam was he talking about? It definitely wasn’t this year’s one. The table that Erick Rowan barely touched did a botch all on its own, how amazing is that?

Kevin Owens (c) vs. Dean Ambrose (Intercontinental Championship)

Winner: Dean Ambrose

This match was solid and going by the wrestling that WWE tends to give its viewers outside of WrestleMania and SummerSlam regarding the Intercontinental championship, that is more than I could have asked for. Kevin Owens and Dean Ambrose are both solid workers who can put on a match that fans can invest in. I’d say that what really hurt this match was the lack of story going into it; every championship match that isn’t for the WWE World Heavyweight championship feels as if two wrestlers have been told they’ll be feuding for the title, it will come to a head at the ppv and that’s all that matters. It’s like there’s no indication that they should care what happens inbetween. I could go on about how feuds for championships deserve stories but I’ll say that from a pure wrestling perspective, this was my match of the night.

Watch or Skip: Watch

Other thoughts: WWE put Kevin Owens and Dean Ambrose in a feud that clearly deserved mic time, that was all they needed to do (rather than popcorn and soda) and the feud would have written itself but instead they didn’t. Jerry Lawler made a comment about people magazine, I don’t remember what it was but I know that it made me annoyed. Kevin Owens usually gives good promos but his promo before the match was awful, it fucking sucked.

My reaction to Kevin Owen’s promo.

Charlotte (c) vs. Paige (Divas Championship)

Winner: Charlotte

The match itself wasn’t anything special but it leaves a lot of questions. It’s very interesting to see how Charlotte and Paige’s feud develops from here and how Becky Lynch fits into the equation along with Team B.A.D. (mostly Sasha Banks) This match was better than the one that they had at Survivor Series even though there was less effort put into the build up, WWE just can’t get the balance can they? Like many matches at this ppv there isn’t too much to say on this one.

Watch or Skip: Watch for the questions it should make you ask

Other thoughts: Becky Lynch has been forgotten since Team PCB broke up which only confirms what Paige said about her. Ric Flair is too old to be doing spots, he chased after Paige to distract her and he was too slow to catch her. What was that with Team B.A.D wearing the wigs? WWE’s attempt to give them character isn’t working. Clearly. Is Charlotte a tweener or a heel, is Paige a tweener or a face because she works better as a heel. Charlotte’s theme song is one of the worst that I’ve ever heard.

Sheamus (c) vs. Roman Reigns (WWE World Heavyweight Championship)

Winner: Sheamus

I liked this match, despite what the crowd’s opinion was. These two went out  and completely beat each other up, I think there were only two matches in the ppv that were more brutal than this one. I felt that this match dragged on at times but for the most part this match was fun to watch and as usual Roman Reigns looked strong and resilient. For me, this was definitely one of the better matches on the ppv, before the ppv I believed that these two wouldn’t work a 20 minute match well but I was proven wrong. The one drawback of this match is that it looks as if it’s one step towards setting up another feud so it’s almost as if this match was unintentionally made into an afterthought.

Watch or Skip: Watch

Other thoughts: Are WWE commentators allowed to reference UFC ppvs? I always thought that there was an unspoken rivalry between the two organisations. The crowd doesn’t respect Roman Reigns at all, first there were ‘we want Cena chants’ which was weird considering that Boston always boos Cena, then there were ‘we miss Rollins’ chants which was rude and then there were ‘NXT chants’, all of which made me shake my head. Were there always two referees in TLC matches? Did Sheamus sandbag Reigns or did Reigns genuinely struggle to lift him up? Where was Wade Barrett? Did I miss something? When Reigns lost, how did he have the kayfabe energy to attack the League of Nations and Triple H? Cena treatment. Why didn’t the Spanish announce table break the first time that HHH was slammed into it, that isn’t the Spanish announce table that I’ve come to know and love L. Is there a possible HHH vs. Reigns feud for WrestleMania in the works because Reigns destroyed him. The fans were absolute pricks during this match.

Final thoughts: Interesting ppv which has left me invested in the world title scene. Like the matches I can’t say too much but I can bash this ppv.

Leave a Reply

