Song of the week 23/11/15 – 29/11/15

Once again, I have another song for you and this might be one of the best ones that I’ve picked EVER! (I’ve only being doing this for 8 weeks so that shows how much I rate this choice) anyway the song is ‘Wanna Be Cool’ by Donnie Trumpet and the Social Experiment, it also features Big Sean, Jeremih and KYLE.

The song is message which promotes just being yourself and whilst it sounds cheesy, as humans that’s something that we all owe ourselves. The second verse is the stand out verse for me since it points out that trying to model yourself to look good to others is irrelevant because in the bigger picture no one cares. At the end of the day everybody has their own personality and what matters is that each person is comfortable with themselves.

Favourite line(s): I don’t wanna be you, I just wanna be me, I don’t wanna be cool, I just wanna be me.

I can’t speak for everyone when I say this, but people have to deal with other people trying to force them to be something that they’re not just because the other person has an image in their head of what said person should be. Really anyone dealing with this should turn around to the person trying to mould them and tell them to fuck off but it’s not always that easy. This is also relevant to a lot of young people who are always trying to follow trends for acceptance even though the lifespan of a trend is a month or so. Outside opinions are always irrelevant and in the long run you’ll be happier if you spend life living by your own rules.

Recommendation on how/when to listen: When you’re feeling down about yourself and believe that you should be what others have said.

Leave a Reply

