Some questions for anime fans

I have a few questions for anime fans. These questions used to float around in my head but I didn’t pay too much attention to them until I read two posts by Cross-shishou which inspired me to write this (I recommend them so here’s one and here’s the other). I know about anime fandom to an extent and I understand how it can influence people but sometimes, just sometimes I have to facepalm at some of the stuff I’ve seen; some people take anime way too seriously and I still can’t understand why, anyway I’ll just get on with questions.

Why do people argue about subs and dubs?

Seriously does this even matter? Fans argue about subs and dubs religiously because apparently watching one is a rite of passage and watching the other makes more sense because it’s in a language that you understand or something stupid like that. It doesn’t make any sense to me because whether you watch anime subbed or dubbed IT’S STILL THE SAME SHIT, you’re still going to see the SAME SCENES, it’s just that it’s two different languages. Arguing about a viewing preference doesn’t make sense to me (I know I’ve already said this and I have to repeat it), the way that I see it, it’s like arguing about watching The Simpsons on Sky One instead of Channel 4 just because… (it’s an out there reference, I know, but you get the point). In case you were wondering what my preference is, it’s subs.

Why do people speak Japanonsense?

Watching subbed anime will teach you a little bit of Japanese which is cool but there’s a limit. I can understand using Japanese terms here and there but it’s really stupid when you’re mixing in English with Japanese and churning out something that no one understands (If you read the recommended post then you’ll have a better understanding of what I’m saying here). Credit to anime fans who want to pick up Japanese as a language but don’t mix it with another language otherwise people will just think you’re a weeaboo and they get definitions like this.

Why do people bash another series when their favourite series comes under fire?

I understand if people love an anime series with a passion but, there comes a point where some people will defend their favourite series so much that they start bashing on other series (I’m pretty sure One Piece fans do this to Fairy Tail). If you like a series, then you like it and really that should be the end of it because not everyone is going to like that same series. Personally my favourite series is Fullmetal Alchemist but if someone tells me that they hate Edward Elric, I’m not going to go and argue about how he’s a better main character than Natsu or Ichigo, I’ll accept the opinion because said person is entitled to one. Generally getting butthurt because someone doesn’t like a series as much as you do is one of the dumbest things you could do, some people can defend series with their lives as if the main character is going to spring to life and fight on their behalf. It’s not that deep, it’s never been that deep and it’ll never be that deep.

Some of these traits can make anime fans interesting but at the same time, it’s part of the reason why people think we’re weird when we’re not.

I’d like to know what your take on these questions are if you have any.

7 thoughts on “Some questions for anime fans

  1. 1. I watch most things dubbed, although I don’t mind subs. Some people prefer subs because American companies have been known to completely change lines when dubbing scenes.

    2. Using too many Japanese words can be annoying, but you have to accept that fandoms have their own terms that other people will not understand. When I say things like FPS or RPG to a non-gamer they have no idea what I am talking about either.

    3. I think that is human nature and doesn’t apply solely to anime. People do the same thing with books, movies and games.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Day by day youre making me want to start watching anime. I don’t watch it but I’ve found is that even if you try to translate something as close as you can, the grammar can differ so personally I think subs would be better. (However I’m just a non-anime watching fan)

    Which brings onto my next point. Where do you think I should start? Death note? One piece? Know any of them?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your first point is still valid regardless of if you watch anime or not and it’s appreciated.

      With your next point, I’d say it depends on what you’re into as to where you should start. Are you into action? Sci-Fi? Drama?

      Like

  3. A thought-provoking post. It’s unfortunate that these truths exist in the anime fandom. As an anime fan myself, I would love to paint the animanga community in immaculate light, but that’s just not going to happen as long as these ugliness are still running rampant. I personally prefer watching an anime in original Japanese rather than watching a dubbed version, but that doesn’t mean that I see dubbed anime as inferior to the original. Dubbed versions would only draw criticism from me if scenes from the anime are overly censored or modified that they lose the series completely lose its essence. As for the overly use of Japanese words, I guess it’s alright when you’re speaking with another who understands what you’re saying. It’s only stupid when you’re speaking it to people who don’t have any idea what’s coming out of your mouth. And finally, fan wars rankles me the most. This is the kind of people who give the animanga community a bad image to non-watchers. Bashing other fans because they disagree with your favourite series is such a moot point because every person has a different taste. It’s useless to try to force your ideals into others and doing it in such disrespectful way is only giving shame to your favourite series. Anyway, good post. Keep on watching anime and blogging about it. Cheers!

    P.S. Thanks for the shout-out to my 2 posts at Fujinsei. I’m glad that my posts inspired you to write this post. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely agree with what you’re saying, I want to see the word anime surrounded by positive connotations and the community as well because it’s no less than it deserves and hopefully it will get there. I’d say the same goes for me, I can get annoyed by certain dubbed anime, if it’s from certain companies like 4Kids. Fans wars are definitely bad for the community and hopefully anime fans will notice this one day.

      I’m glad you liked the post and I’m always happy to give credit where it’s due 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess I’m fortunate that I didn’t have to watch any 4Kids when I was younger. It was only when I became active in the online anime community that I learned about 4Kids and their often hilarious censors.

        And thanks. Keep on blogging. Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

